Good Friday

Mark 10:45: For the Son of Man came not to be ministered unto, but to minister and to give His life a ransom for many.

Jesus, my Savior, born to die

hanging in anguish; they knew not why.

Sweet Lamb of Calv’ry; there on the tree

spilt His own life-blood

for you and for me.

Suffering fully for all my sin;

refusing a rescue from Angels of His.

Taking upon the Him the weight of our sin;

shedding His Life-blood the vict’ry to win.

No angel in Heaven, no righteous man

but Jesus, the Sinless, could fulfill God’s Plan.

Praying for sinners like you and like me:

“Father, forgive them” as He hung on he tree.

God in His mercy; Creator of all,

Opened the Life-Gate,now opened for all.

Ye who believe Him cast crowns at His feet;

The Lord of all Glory who knows not defeat,

Is seated in Heaven; there to prepare

a Home up in Glory, His Glory to share.

Oh sinner, now trust Him, no longer delay;

the dear, precious Savior is waiting today.

fjs

 

An EXCERPT from my book, Strains of Glory, on the market soon:

THE SCARLET CORD

By Norma Jackson Sawyer

My memory does not go so far back, but, no doubt, the Cord started in my early youth through words from my father and mother. My first recognition of it is in a large church in Portland. I said, “Can I go forward?” But, Mom, thinking I was too young, said we’d wait. Second, came a ladies home Bible Club for children. How I thrilled over the red ribbon I could add to a trophy if I memorized the Bible verse.

Miles away, in North Appleton, a servant of the Lord, teaching Bible in our rural school, added to my awareness of God and His majesty through Bible memory. Our two lady pastors, Muriel Parker and Edna Howard, let us ride in their car’s rumble seat to church three miles away.

Later, it happened. Kindness and spiritual concern caused our pastor, Orel Ward, to transport us to the March Youth Rally in South Montville. As Alma Fields, then working with Baxter School for the Deaf in Portland, burdened for youth, spoke the truth from God’s Word. It was then I understood my sin before God and repented and received Jesus’ blood (represented in the Old Testament by Rahab’s Scarlet Cord) shed for me. John 1:12 was the scripture. “but as many as received Him to them gave He power to become the sons of God …” There was no doubt of that truth! The closeness I’ve had to God, my Father, has never changed!

 

 

Leave a Reply

