Stella

An Excerpt from my upcoming book, Strains of Glory – A Maine Country Scrapbook

“Stella”
By Flora Jackson Sawyer
Stella entered our lives abruptly that day. My father grabbed her suitcase, but she clung
tenaciously to her art valise.
“Do you need help?” He had said.
“Do I look like an invalid?
There was no love lost between these two.
Estelle B. Reynolds was my mother’s youngest sister. Married five times, and a graduate of the Portland Museum of Art, she was now pursuing a vision of living in the country and raising Angora Rabbits as a hobby/vocation. The Angora Rabbit hair, she said, would bring good prices. So now, here she was. Divested of her fancy clothes and makeup, and looking more like a farmer in her red bandanna, Jeans and flannel shirt, than Farmer Brown himself. Oh it came on gradually. Back in Yarmouth she had taken up the hammer and saw and built herself a neat little art studio. But with that the money was going out, not coming in. So now she needed a means of income, as well as a place to live.
We kids – all seven of us – loved “Aunt Stella”. After all she concocted some pretty interesting dishes which our black iron wood stove had never seen. She was a rather welcome diversion to our mundane life. But life became a challenge for my mother. A challenge she didn’t need. Already contending with a difficult home situation, Mama now became a regular referee between my father and Stella. Yet all this proved to be a testing ground, and the end result brought us all into a closer walk with God.

2 thoughts on “Stella

  1. Hello Flora,
    I am so glad to have met you at the Waldoboro Baptist Church earlier this week. When I had my morning devotional that day and rolled my works upon the Lord asking Him to lead me and guide me every second, I never anticipated that He would send me to the Baptist Church when all the while I thought that the Townsend’s were taking me to the Word of Life Church. Surely God had orchestrated for me to be at that exact location to have the pleasure of meeting you and Helen. You were to me like a breath of fresh air as I don’t recall ever having a conversation with a fellow author before.
    I just read one of your stories and was quite entertained by it. I signed up to follow your blog, and look forward to reading more of your writings.
    God bless you, my new friend.

    In Christ,
    B.J. Peres

    1. Great to hear from you, B.J.!
      I was happy to meet you, also. So good to know God is always carrying out His Plan.
      I read some of your writings as well, and really appreciate your insight and willingness to share what God has given you with others.
      Please keep on with your writing – I’m sure God uses it!

      By His grace,

      Flora

Leave a Reply

