MEMORIES

  It was incredible! A package in the mail from Daddy, from California! I’m not sure if I was the only one of my six siblings to accept with joyous rapture what that weighty bundle with its plain brown paper wrapper contained. I have a suspicion most of my siblings were hoping for toys, or school supplies or even candy – of course I was, too – especially if it was Dark Chocolate Hershey bars, not in the least suspecting what it actually held. I’m sure my mother must have realized what it was because of its weight. I’m not sure that even she particularly wanted what it contained, but I was in seventh heaven! I stared in wonderment as the huge box was opened.

 

Books!!

 

Books that I had heard of and dreamed about. Little Women! Little Men! Hans Brinker and the Silver Skates! Three of the most popular children’s books of that day. I handled them with eager, yet careful hands. I rubbed my grimy fingers across the hard blue and green covers delightedly. I immediately knew which I would read first. I wanted to grab them all at once and escape to my bedroom for closer perusal, so eager and selfish was I! I wanted to hug them and feel them again. I wanted to keep them with me forever! I wanted to put them under my pillow. I didn’t want to let them go. I wanted to keep them protected and safe. That was one of the most exciting days of my life!

 

 

Leave a Reply

